Another ‘Agency’ offering to sell your photos
I have today received another blanket email from yet another photo agency, allto1.com, offering to help you sell your photos. This time touting themselves as a rights managed only agency that is “an alternative to large established photo agencies that are beating down the price at any cost”.
My questions are:
- Why would a buyer chose to use Allto1.com when they have a bigger choice from established photographers, at lower prices from the established agencies?
- Why, if the management of Allto1.com truly believe in their ability to market and sell your stock images do they charge the contributing photographers a fee (after 150mb of free storage space) to have their images on-line?
- Why would a picture researcher want to wade through a multitude of ‘family snapshot’ images of poor quality, inaccurate and incomplete captions, on the off chance they might find what they are looking for? There is no quality control whatsoever of images on this site. (Try a search for ‘sparrow’ on the site. 5 results, including one that is ‘a seagull’ (no such thing it’s a gull) although to be fair there is a sparrow in this picture if you look hard enough, and only one of sparrow actually identified)
If you are producing quality work and understand the marketplace you shoot for, look for an agency to represent you that either is a good general agency or is a specialist or boutique agency dealing exclusively with the type of imagery you produce Most of all, the model has to be that whatever agency you chose, it should be capable of supporting itself on the sales it makes, and not on the income it receives from contributing photographers